CSEP Professional Standards Program Recognition Award

The purpose of the CSEP Professional Standards Program Recognition Award is to annually honour an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the Professional Standards Program of CSEP. The Award recognizes contributions such as, but not limited to committee work, leadership, development and delivery of certifications, and practice and/or research in the health and fitness industry.


The recipient will be an active CSEP certified member (CSEP-CPT or CSEP-CEP) during the membership year preceding the award, in good standing and has made a significant contribution to the advancement of the health and fitness Professional Standards in Canada. Nominees may be either nominated by a fellow member or self-nominate.

Nominations are submitted to the CSEP office by June 30 and should include a a letter of support with a brief rationale supporting the nomination a brief biography and CV.

Nominees who are not selected automatically remain in the pool for one additional year; re-nominations (within a three-year period) may be submitted in the form of an update to the original submission.

Format of the Award

The award recipient shall receive a citation and a $500 honorarium. The award shall be presented at the CSEP AGM.



Year Recipient
2018 Scott Thomas
2017 Kirstin Lane
2016 Gareth Jones
2015 Jonathon Fowles
2014 No Award
2013 No Award
2012 No Award
2011 Paula McFadyen
2010 Shannon Bredin
2009 Veronica Jamnik
2008 René Huellstrung
2007 Darren Warburton
2006 Rosie Neil
2005 Lori Zehr
2004 Robert G. Haennel
2003 Gregory S. Anderson
2002 Jean Bonneau
2001 Garry D. Wheeler (FACA)
2000 Phil Campagna (FACA)
1999 Norman F. LaVoie (FACA)
1998 Don Watts (FACA)
1997 Blake F. Ferris (FACA)
1996 Veronica Jamnik (FACA)
1995 David J. Kato (FACA)
1994 Greg Poole (FACA)
1993 Art Quinney (FACA)
1992 Norm Gledhill (FACA)