Introduced in 2018, the Canadian Society for Exercise Physiology Student Travel Award is to provide financial aid for students to attend the general annual meeting (AGM)

Eligibility Requirements

  • Applicant must be an undergraduate or graduate student at time of application (verification of enrollement required).

  • Applicant must be a CSEP member at time of application for award and at the time of the AGM.

  • Student must be submitting an abstract to the AGM and include with this application, and must be first author of the abstract.

  • Priority will be given to CSEP student member whose supervisor is also a CSEP member.

  • Can hold with other awards.

  • Students submitting for late-breaking abstracts are not eligible for this award.

Application Process

  1. In addition to the abstract to be presented at the AGM the applicant must include a personal statement (~500 words) outlining A) the importance of the research being presented and B) how this aligns with the mission of CSEP (
  2. The primary academic advisor is to include a one-page, signed statement of contribution outlining the student’s role in all aspects of the investigation including rationale for financial need.
  3. The deadline for submission is June 27, 2022. 


  • Priority will be given to applicants who can demonstrate a financial need stated by the primary advisor in their letter. Financial need assessment will be based on A) geographical need; B) funding status of home laboratory. Student can indicate other financial needs in their personal statement.
  • The Membership Services Committee will adjudicate the travel grant submissions and will defer to the local organizing committee for abstract approval.
  • Awards will consist of $500 and student registration at the AGM. The number of awards will depend on finances available.

Please send applications to the Director of Member Services

2019 Recipients

Recipient University
Alexis Marcotte Université de Sherbrooke
Haley Young University of Calgary
Mai Wageh McMaster University
Marie-Michelle Mony Université de Sherbrooke
Mila Bjelica McMaster University
Patrick Drouin Queen’s University
Sofia Grant University of Calgary
Tiffany VanLeishout McMaster University
Yasmine Coovadia McGill University

2018 Recipients

Recipient University
Andrew Ramsook University of British Columbia
Dominic Tremblay University of Sherbrooke
Hugo Parent-Roberge University of Sherbrooke
Kristine Godziuk University of Alberta
Martin Poirier University of Ottawa
Salueha Farooq University of Alberta
Thomas Deshayes University of Sherbrooke
Travis Hrubeniuk University of New Brunswick

Equity, Diversity,
and Inclusion Statement

The Canadian Society for Exercise Physiology is committed to equity, diversity, and inclusion in all aspects of the Society’s business. This includes, but is not limited to, applications for membership, awards and grant review, and employment and volunteer positions. CSEP welcomes applications and participation from women, members of racialized groups/visible minorities, Aboriginal persons, persons with disabilities, persons of any sexual orientation, and persons of any gender identity or gender expression. In its commitment to equity, diversity and inclusion, members of the Society, its committees and employees and/or any award/grant recipients are expected to uphold the same policies in their work related to the Society.