The purpose of the CSEP Honour Award is to annually honour an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to exercise physiology (encompassing physical activity, fitness, health and human performance) in Canada.

While such a contribution could have been made through either traditional scientific endeavours (research and scholarship) or through exceptional service to CSEP or similar association or agency, the award will normally be granted for a contribution to science, and only under exceptional circumstances will it be awarded for administrative service.


The recipient normally will be a Canadian who has made his/her contribution in Canada in exercise physiology (encompassing physical activity, fitness, health and human performance).


Nominations for the Honour Award are open to any CSEP member. The nomination should be in the form of a letter signed by the member and should include a brief rationale in support of the individual nominated. Letters can be faxed, emailed or mailed to the CSEP office prior to June 30.

Nominees who are not selected automatically remain in the pool for an additional year.

Re-nominations (within a three-year period) may be submitted in the form of an update to the original submission.

Format of the Award:

The recipient shall receive a $2,000 monetary award and a citation suitable for framing. The award shall be presented at the AGM.

Previous Recipients

Year Recipient Affiliation
2022 Kevin Shoemaker University of Western Ontario
2019 Lawrence Spriet University of Guelph
2018 Audrey Hicks McMaster University
2017 Ira Jacobs University of Toronto
2016 Mark Tremblay Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario – Healthy Active Living and Obesity Research (CHEO-HALO)
2015 David Behm Memorial University of Newfoundland
2014 Brian MacIntosh University of Calgary
2013 Bob Ross;
Angelo Tremblay
Queens University;
Université Laval
2012 Don Paterson Western University
2011 Enzo Cafarelli York University
2010 David Hood York University
2009 Luc Léger University of Montreal
2008 Mark Tarnopolsky McMaster University
2007 Phillip Gardiner Université de Manitoba
2006 François Péronnet Université de Montréal
2005 Oded Bar-Or McMaster University
2004 Terrence E. Graham University of Guelph
2003 Michael Houston University of Waterloo
2002 Arend Bonen University of Waterloo
2001 Donald C. McKenzie University of British Columbia
2000 Art Quinney University of Alberta
1999 Norm Gledhill York University
1998 Angelo N. Belcastro University of Western Ontario
1997 Richard L. Hughson University of Waterloo
1996 No Award
1995 David Cunningham University of Western Ontario
1994 No Award
1993 No Award
1992 All 25 CASS Past Presidents
1991 Donald Bailey University of Saskatchewan
1990 Barry D. McPherson Wilfrid Laurier University
1989 J. Duncan MacDougall McMaster University
1988 Claude Bouchard Université Laval
1987 Howard Green University of Waterloo
1986 Albert W. Taylor University of Western Ontario
1985 Roy J. Shephard University of Toronto

Equity, Diversity,
and Inclusion Statement

The Canadian Society for Exercise Physiology is committed to equity, diversity, and inclusion in all aspects of the Society’s business. This includes, but is not limited to, applications for membership, awards and grant review, and employment and volunteer positions. CSEP welcomes applications and participation from women, members of racialized groups/visible minorities, Aboriginal persons, persons with disabilities, persons of any sexual orientation, and persons of any gender identity or gender expression. In its commitment to equity, diversity and inclusion, members of the Society, its committees and employees and/or any award/grant recipients are expected to uphold the same policies in their work related to the Society.